Skip to content

Lunch #1

June 16, 2010

These titles are just getting more creative as we go along.

Here’s the first lunch. To be honest, I was kind of dreading making this and considered copping out. I was really tired from our 20 hours in the car this weekend, and just wanted to sit on the couch and relax. But this lunch took me a total of about 15 minutes to prepare, so it ended up not being that bad (I need to remind myself of this when I feel like waiting until the morning and throwing something not-so-great together).

100_1934

 So for my first lunch I have a wrap (recipe follows), Chobani strawberry banana yogurt (delicious!!), and celery and ranch dip/dressing. The ranch dressing is rather uninspired, but I have limited time and it was really the only thing I could find in my fridge.

 Vegan Wrap

  • 1 whole wheat tortilla
  • 1/4 of an avocado, mashed
  • Red pepper slices
  • 1 frozen vegan veggie burger, sliced
  • 1 tbsp hummus
  • 1 kale leaf

To make the wrap: mash the avocado in the middle of the tortilla:

100_1927 Layer on sliced red peppers and the cooked veggie burger

100_1928

 

100_1930

Put a dollop of hummus on top of that, and top it off with a kale leaf

100_1931

Fold wrap by folding in the two short sides, followed by the two long sides

Put in a preheated pan (leave it on after you finish cooking the veggie burger!), and cook on each side until browned.  

100_1932

There you have it, my first lunch this week! It was so delicious, and it kept me full for hours.

I’ll be back later with my lunch from today! 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jackie permalink
    June 18, 2010 8:21 am

    Maybe you should start a business of making healthy lunches for people who work but don’t have time to make lunches. I would definitely be your first customer!

  2. Christen permalink
    June 29, 2010 12:19 pm

    that looks great! you should make one for me free of charge. i’ll tell you if it’s marketable…see, we could go into business like that. 😉

  3. carrie permalink
    August 10, 2010 9:37 am

    Julie! I miss you and your blog!!! give me some more updates b/c I ran out of cooking ideas!!! you were keeping Ted and I full and focused all day long, like shredded wheat but more tasty!

Leave a Reply

