Skip to content

This is not about food…

May 28, 2010

It is a series of rants as they go through my head. You’ve been warned.

I haven’t gotten much sleep as of late. I had myself convinced that when I was done with school I would be able to sleep and sleep to my little heart’s content. This is why I pushed through with very little sleep during finals week. It was the visions of eight hours of sleep a night that kept me going. This has not happened. Okay, to be more accurate it happened, but only for a week. And maybe I wouldn’t be whining so much if I hadn’t been forced to sit in a classroom and listen to people drone on about things that truly make no difference to me. All this to say I’m pretty sleep deprived. Which is completely my fault. I could go to bed earlier, but summer is beckoning. And it just screams, “stay up late, you have no responsibilities!” Which is, of course, completely untrue. But night after night I believe it. And here I am…a little loopy and consuming coffee like my life depends on it.

Our internet is out. This frustrates me. I don’t understand how I’m supposed to survive in a technological age without it. I’m used to being connected, people! I need to be able to see what random useless things my friends are posting on Facebook. I need to know if Kohl’s has e-mailed me about their lowest prices of the season. I need to do assignments for school. Okay, that last one is actually true. So for now, I’m at Caribou doing school work and work work. It’s a hassle, mostly because I can no longer get stuff done while still in my pajamas, with bed head, sans make up. Meh.

I am currently in love with Ryan Adams. I don’t think I’ll marry him because I don’t really see it working out. But I love a brooding man. I was thinking about this while I was driving and listening to Ryan sing (probably about something sad, and probably way too loud). I like guys like this in theory, but in reality it’s a bit annoying and rather frustrating. There’s some sort of disconnect there. The idea is more appealing than the reality. I guess that’s true for a lot of things in life. I think I just had an epiphany…

I should probably quit this post while I’m ahead. If you’re still reading, thanks for sticking it out. I promise my next post will be more coherent.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. carrie permalink
    May 28, 2010 4:46 pm

    I loved this post Jules. I love to read about my friends having struggles (not that I’m happy people have struggles) but it makes me feel more connected, like I can pray for you and know what you’re dealing with! You have such a great attitude!I will pray internet comes quickly, I’m learning I can’t survive without it. I had a really hard time sleeping for the last 3 weeks of school and for about 4-5 days when it was done. I think my mind was too full and couldn’t relax (even on vacation I was laying in bed not sleeping and waking up every 45 minutes) FINALLY my brain has turned off and I’m falling asleep left and right. No happy mediums here!

  2. May 30, 2010 9:01 am

    I love this post and your thoughts . . . I love when we embrace that life is messy and we are all a little bit crazy and blog posts don’t have to be all neat and tidy, or even on topic!!! YEAH JULIE

    PS – I love working with you!!! and I’m so glad we’re friends!

  3. Christen permalink
    May 31, 2010 1:03 am

    you can’t marry ryan adams cause he’s married to mandy mo’. yeah for the interwebs being back on!

  4. Sham Sham permalink
    June 1, 2010 10:10 am

    I completely agree with the brooding man theory. They seem so mysterious and hot and I secretly want to be his muse that pulls him out of his funk, but in reality it doesn’t ever work out that way. They’re never charmingly brooding, just mopey. Now, to just translate this new found knowledge into real life…

Leave a Reply

