Skip to content

Quick Oatmeal Cookies

May 19, 2010

So, I can’t really take the credit for this one. Bonnie came last week and brought these really delicious cookies. True confession? I ate two for breakfast the morning of my CNA exam. Maybe I can credit them for passing…I’m sure they were at least a contributing factor.

So anyway, I ate two of these cookies, not knowing that they were relatively healthy. Bonnie is a grad student and needed something to munch on while she studied, but had limited ingredients on hand (except for healthy ones, apparently). So she took an oatmeal chocolate chip bag mix and substituted one banana for the butter and a flax egg for the egg. They were soft, chewy and delicious! I loved them, and I thought the technique was brilliant! These are perfect in a pinch. I keep a bag of cookie mix in the house because it’s really easy to make a batch when I’m pressed for time (i.e. Tuesday nights when our small group is coming over and I haven’t made anything). But just in case you don’t have a bag mix here’s a quick recipe for oatmeal chocolate chip cookie that are also relatively healthy.

100_1814

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

(preheat oven to 350*)

In a small bowl whisk together:

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 T cinnamon

In a large bowl mix:

  • 1 large smashed banana
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 flax eggs (for each: 1 T ground flax, 3 T water; mix and allow to thicken)

Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix just until combined, being careful not to overmix. 

Stir in:

  • 1 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 bag chocolate chips

Again mix just until all ingredients are incorporated.

Drop by spoonfuls onto lightly greased cookie sheets (I used cooking spray) and bake for 12-15 minutes then remove to cooling racks.

When I made these I made a couple really big ones and we topped them with ice cream. They were delicious!

100_1813 

Next time you’re short on ingredients, try using this recipe. I promise it won’t disappoint.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 7:03 pm

    Mmmm. I think you need to make more before I come this weekend.

  2. carrie permalink
    May 27, 2010 5:49 pm

    those look amazing! I can’t wait to try them. I made pinenut pasta salad tonight for dinner and now I’m tired. Do you ever feel too tired after cooking to clean up? that is my ONLY problem with cooking!

  3. June 14, 2010 8:41 pm

    these cookies are amazing! Thank you for posting the recipe, and thanks to Bonnie as well!

    I love them and my small group loved them. I will have to try more healthy baking as it is wonderful 🙂

Leave a Reply

