Skip to content

More pancakes

April 28, 2010

So pumpkin season is over. For me at least, pumpkin says fall and winter in the spring and summer I want something a little lighter-tasting without warm spices like cinnamon and nutmeg. Enter new pancake recipe. Speaking of, has anyone noticed a disproportionate number of pancake recipes on this blog? There are probably a disproportionate number of pancakes consumed in my life though, so it just might make perfect sense. 😉

On to the pancakes.

In a small bowl stir together:

  • 1 T ground flax seed
  • 3 T water

100_1517

Allow to sit and thicken. This will become egg-like…it’s a flax egg!

In a large(ish) bowl combine:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (I always use King Arthur’s White Whole Wheat flour. It’s 100% whole wheat, but it’s a lighter tasting than regular whole wheat and isn’t really heavy in baked goods like regular w/w does.)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 T white sugar

100_1512

Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add:

  • 1 cup soy or almond milk
  • Flax egg
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 T melted Earth Balance vegan butter

Stir just until combined, being careful not to overmix.

Drop by 1/4 cups onto preheated griddle

100_1520

Cook until bubbly on top before flipping and cooking until lightly browned.

100_1550

Enjoy a pile with your favorite toppings.

100_1553

Or your favorite people:

100_1566(I need more of this in my life…) 

 

This week promises to be uber-stressful. Actually it kind of already has been. You know those weeks when you have finals but then all sorts of weird things start happening that require attention? Yeah, it’s one of those. I’ll try to update again, but no promises. There is also guaranteed not to be any interesting food, so bear with me. I will certainly make up for it with my relatively stress-free summer. 😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:19 pm

    Julie, I think I’m going to crash your house for breakfast one day. I’m just going to break down the door – I really want to try pancakes and green smoothies!

    • jul82 permalink*
      April 28, 2010 2:21 pm

      Ok, I am so creepy for replying to this so fast, but I’m studying and am positive this is a better use of my time ;).

      You’re on, SP!! I’m totally going to make you a delicious breakfast some morning!

  2. May 6, 2010 2:16 pm

    I still like pumpkin pancakes in the summer.

    • jul82 permalink*
      May 7, 2010 12:10 pm

      Bon bon, let’s make sweet potato pancakes while you’re here!!

Leave a Reply

