Skip to content

Races: The Good and the bad

April 22, 2010

I’ll try to spare you the sob story about my life being stressful, busy, etc., because it’s probably getting pretty old. It’s the end of the semester, which means I’m literally counting down the days (11 today! I actually just had to look at the calendar, apparently I’m not that great at counting down.) and also scrambling to finish a bunch of things in that short amount of time. Unfortunately, blogging is not very high on that list. My life would probably be a lot more fun if it was.

Since I last blogged I’ve run two 10Ks.  Pretty exciting, for me at least. The first one went really well. Christen and I travelled with a group of girls to Charleston to do the Cooper River Bridge Run. This was my first race ever (Unless you count track in high school, which I don’t because I wasn’t good, I loathed the meets, and only ran so I could hang out with my friends.) and it was FUN!!

All the girls 

We arrived at the start at 5:45 in the freezing cold. Seriously, it was ridiculous, and it was only made worse by my decision to forego a sweatshirt and just wear a t-shirt and capris. Bad idea. I may or may not have (but most likely did) driven Sarah crazy while we were waiting to start saying over and over, “why didn’t I wear a sweatshirt,” and “don’t let me forget long sleeves next year!!”

Julie and sarah

We had about two-and-a-half hours to wait and we were crazy ready to go!

Chris and Juji Crazy Chris Sarah Julie

Once we got moving, though I was a lot of fun. There were crazy people in crazy costumes everywhere, and it was hilarious watching them. I loved it. Sarah and I finished strong, and I honestly felt like I could have kept running for 2 more miles. It was great.

Finished!

I’m not sure what is more amazing about this picture, our faces or the fact that we’re standing near some sort of machinery. With banana and orange peels in it.

I was really looking forward to our next race, which was the Spring Saunter held by The Summit (our church) to raise money for Habitat for Humanity. Really my only goal was to PR, since I had a time to beat. There was a huge difference for this race, though. It was at 2:30 in the afternoon. I hadn’t really thought much about it before the race and was actually just looking forward to being warmer this time around.

100_1632 

Things didn’t go so well. For some reason it didn’t occur to me that I needed to be really hydrated before the race, even more so than for the last race. I drank water but not nearly enough, and I get dehydrated super easily. I started feeling bad about half-way through the race. It wasn’t unbearably hot, but the sun was out in full force, so I was definitely feeling the heat. I had to really slow down right after the turn-around point and let Sarah and Christen go ahead, which was really disappointing. I ended up beating my previous time by several minutes, but I felt horrible at the end. And for the rest of the night. I was completely nauseas and freezing cold and exhausted. Corey was great and made me pancakes and bought me Gatorade and sat with me while I complained. The rest of the night and entire next day was spent drinking Gatorade cocktails (oh. yeah.)

100_1701 

like my life depended on it. I finally felt better on Tuesday, but I will never run an afternoon race in the south in the spring/summer again. My body just wasn’t meant to do it.

So there are the stories of my races. Hopefully it wasn’t too boring. Sorry for the lack of recipes lately. And just the lack of posting in general. I’ll be back with a good one, I promise!! 🙂

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    April 24, 2010 2:08 pm

    Julie! I LOVE running with you! And you absolutely did not bother me the morning of Charleston . . . my hands were numb (remember me trying to text??) . . . I’m looking forward to many more adventures with you – and no more afternoon runs unless it’s cold outside 🙂

  2. Christen permalink
    April 29, 2010 10:51 am

    why am i a cheerleader in that pic? was it because i was being buster? also, it might appear to people that you were mixing alcohol with gatorade, which is kind of what you implied. to which ppl will think…that’s probably not the best to re-hydrate!

    • jul82 permalink*
      May 7, 2010 12:09 pm

      Ok, I in no way implied that there was alcohol in that Gatorade. It’s just where your mind went. So there.

      Yes, you were Buster….

Leave a Reply

