Skip to content

New Beginnings

April 1, 2010

So, maybe I’m bad at this blogging thing after all. I had such a good streak going there, too. I like to think I had a good excuse (or several good excuses) for such a long absence. School has been hectic. Apparently the only thing that takes up more time in your week than a 12 hour clinical day is two five hour clinical days. That’s right, I started my psych clinical. It is every bit as unglamorous as it seems, especially coming off of my pediatric rotation. Actually, it hasn’t been all bad. The days leading up to it were definitely more fraught with more anxiety than necessary, which may have been the worst part of it all. Oh, if only I’d learn that things generally work out better than I expect them to. So, my instructor is wonderful and I’ve met some really nice girls in my group. It’s just so different than what we’re all used to. Which is you know, actually doing medical stuff instead of just talking. Literally, we just talk to patients…it’s a bit confusing, even for us.

Ok, all that to say, I’m back again (I wonder how many “I’m Back” posts I’m going to have on this thing when it’s all said and done…), and I’m ready to blog!!

Enough complaining. While some things were anxiety-inducing, we did lots of fun stuff too.

Sarah and Lynn had a St. Patrick’s Day/Pre-10K party complete with rainbow cupcakes:

100_1422 100_1424

(compliments of Lynn…beautiful AND delicious!)

Cute Scattergories partners:

100_1428

Creepy hairstylists:

100_1435

And some entertainment by Sarah:100_1455

Pretty much everything you need for a great party.

I also ran my very first 10K. It was awesome! I’ll share more about the weekend later, but here are some pictures from the race:

Julie and sarah Julie sarah chris

Things got a little crazy at 5:30 on a freezing cold morning. I’m pretty excited about the running, and now having a time to beat for the Summit 10K. Things may get interesting. 🙂

I’m looking forward to celebrating Easter weekend with the fam and will hopefully have more fun stories. There will definitely be more recipes too! I’m already working on a few. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    April 5, 2010 12:09 am

    oh my . . . I have no idea what I’m doing in that picture, but it’s probably something like . . .

    “stop calling, stop calling, I don’t want to think anymore . . . ”

    can’t wait to run more with you!!!

  2. April 8, 2010 1:46 pm

    thanks for the update! i did one too. and i feel i need to make an amendment to one of your picture captions: i am the creepy hairstylist; lori is the hairstylee. if we were both hairstylists…why would she need me to do her hair?

Leave a Reply

