Skip to content

PB & J Oatmeal

March 9, 2010

One of the ways Bonnie and I are similar is that we go to bed every night thinking about what we’re going to have for breakfast the next morning. We know it’s weird, we’ve seen the looks we get when we say it. However, I maintain that there are far worse addictions than one to healthy breakfasts.

100_0292

We’ve been planning the breakfast we had this morning for several days now. On the menu was peanut butter and jelly oatmeal. Also, there was banana thrown in there because, well, they just make everything taste even better!

I used to only make my oatmeal in the microwave, but a couple of years ago (after one too many oatmeal explosions) switched to making them on the stove. It’s really no more time-consuming than microwave cooking, and the perk is that you don’t have to plant yourself directly in front of the microwave to make sure the oatmeal doesn’t overflow. The one drawback is the extra pot to clean. But then, I’d rather throw another dish in the dishwasher than clean out the microwave any day….

Back to the actual breakfast. Here’s the recipe for one bowl of oatmeal:

 

PB & J Oatmeal

  • 1/3 cup quick-cooking rolled oats (not instant)
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • Pinch of salt

Put these in a pan and allow to just come to a boil. Then turn the heat down and allow to cook for about 5 minutes

  • 1/2 a banana
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Slice the banana into the pot with the oatmeal. Sprinkle in cinnamon. Stir and keep cooking until the banana is warmed through.

100_1348

  • 2 tsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp jelly

Pour the oats into a bowl. Top with peanut butter (we used White Chocolate Wonderful…it. was. awesome.) and jelly. Devour.

100_1350

I put a little banana butter (from the Durham Farmer’s Market) on mine as well. Mostly because it’s Spring Break and what good is a break from school if you don’t go a little crazy?? (This may be a little like using white flour in pancakes ;).)

Also, if you’re really awesome, you eat your oats out of a bowl that says “oats.” (Did I just blow your mind?!)

100_1352

And with a pretty fantastic sister (whilst sending the other fantastic sister off to work… :()

100_0874

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 11:13 am

    you are a blogging maniac and i LOVE it! i don’t love the part about sending the other sister off to work though. 😦 you should blog about our trip to toast too. ps- the pb&j oatmeal looks good.

    • jul82 permalink*
      March 10, 2010 12:01 pm

      I know, I especially hated that part too! I’m excited for lunch today, though!

  2. March 10, 2010 9:26 pm

    Yummy! I think I will have that for breakfast tomororw, since I am out of smoothie materials! I’m lovin this blog:)

  3. March 12, 2010 9:44 pm

    hey! That’s my house!

    • jul82 permalink*
      March 13, 2010 1:14 am

      Haha! That was weird, mom. I had to look back to see what you were even talking about. I had a moment when I thought the old owners of our house had found us! Lol.

Leave a Reply

