Skip to content

5 Layer Salad

March 1, 2010

So, this post/recipe is rather simple, but I promise it is delicious. When we were growing up my mom used to make a 7 layer salad that I loved. Basically everything was layered in a big clear dish and you could see all the layers through the side. It might also be the reason I’m obsessed with cold peas….

When I want a quick healthy dinner a lot of times I make a layered salad, only mine is vegan one portion. What I like most about this is that you can totally change the salad based on what vegetables you put in it. I use what I have on hand and it turns out fantastic every time. My vegan-food-hating boyfriend even requested it for dinner after he saw me eating it one night!

For one salad:

I start with half a head of chopped romaine lettuce:

100_1294

Then layer on shoestring carrots and avocado:

100_1295 

Since I quit eating cheese (and sometimes miss it terribly) I think the avocado gives a nice creaminess and soft texture to the salad that is absent with all veggies.

In a pan, cook zucchini and mushrooms (or basically any vegetable you have) in 1 tsp Earth Balance with salt, pepper, and dried basil. Adding a little Worcestershire sauce  Here’s where the salad usually varies quite a bit. I’ve used everything from bell peppers to leftover butternut squash all with great results.

Put the veggies from the pan on top of the salad in the bowl and garnish with hummus, green onions and salad dressing. Lately I’ve been using Annie’s balsamic vinaigrette, but my absolute favorite is Annie’s Goddess dressing. It goes so perfectly with the hummus.

100_1296 100_1297

There you have it: 5 layer salad! Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 12:53 pm

    that looks yummy. i want you to make that for me, minus the carrots. i love that goddess dressing!

    • jul82 permalink*
      March 2, 2010 6:23 pm

      Ok! We’ll make them! Remember the 7 layer salad mom used to make? It was soooo good!

  2. March 3, 2010 8:46 pm

    OH, thank you thank you! I have been buying all these veggies and not knowing what to do with them besides chop them up and eat them with hummus. This was such a good idea! Avacados are WONDERFUL. the krogers near us is like a spa. it has the biggest health food section as well as the most produce selection i’ve EVER seen! you guys should visit and I will take you there. lol.

Leave a Reply

