Skip to content

Saturday Breakfast

February 27, 2010

So, it’s no real secret to those who know me best that I’m a creature of habit. I love familiarity, and change kind of freaks me out.

100_0379

I like rituals, I like routine, and I like eating the same thing for breakfast every morning. I need a little something expected in my day, ya know?

Every Saturday in the Brady house we have vegan pumpkin pancakes. They didn’t actually start off vegan (or pumpkin for that matter), but they evolved. They are light and fluffy, melt-in-your mouth delicious, and best of all healthy! We top them with peanut butter or almond butter and a some syrup. We also got this great stuff at the Durham Farmer’s Market called banana butter that is awesome on pancakes as well!

This recipe makes about 10-12 smallish pancakes. I’ve doubled it and they turn out just as wonderful. I’ll post the vegan recipe as well as the non-vegan.

100_1271

Vegan Pumpkin Pancakes

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or cinnamon with a pinch of nutmeg)
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Whisk dry ingredients together and make a well in the center. Then add:

  • 1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp pumpkin
  • 1 cup soymilk or almond milk
  • 1 Tbsp melted vegan margarine (I use Earth Balance)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Mix everything together just until combined, being careful not to over mix.

Scoop out by 1/4 cupfuls onto preheated and greased griddle or pan. Cook approximately 3 minutes on each side.

*For the non-vegan version substitute 1 egg for the extra 2 Tbsp pumpkin, and buttermilk for the soymilk. Keep everything else the same.

You can also leave the pumpkin out completely, or substitute mashed bananas. I’ve also used sweet potato puree, which is excellent too!

 Here are mine from this morning topped with almond butter and syrup:

100_1273 

I highly recommend enjoying them with a huge cup of coffee 😉 and leisurely Saturday morning activities.

Yet another great thing is that they hold me over for hours. I can get so much done (including a long run) and not have to worry about lunch until later in the afternoon.

Try them and let me know how it goes!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    February 27, 2010 12:07 pm

    Julie! I want to try these! You need to come over here and make them one morning, or we need to have a potluck b’fast sometime soon. I’m just sayin’.

  2. jul82 permalink*
    February 27, 2010 12:30 pm

    Definitely! You are more than welcome to come over ANY Saturday morning…we literally have them every week! Just show up. 🙂 I’m excited that you read my blog!!

  3. christen permalink
    February 27, 2010 12:59 pm

    they are QUICK AND DELISH!!!

  4. February 27, 2010 2:16 pm

    Julie!!! we just tried the smoothies and we are in love!!!! almond milk is the best, and the spinach made it such a pretty green color!!!! we just had them for lunch!!! we have been eating so much crap all week our bodies finally said enough is enough, lol. I am definitely going to make the pancakes soon. MORE RECIPES please! 🙂 are you totally vegan or just a little? do you have anymore vegan recipes? Alicia Silverstone shared a lot of really exciting vegan food on Oprah the other day.

  5. jul82 permalink*
    February 28, 2010 9:36 am

    Yay! I’m so excited, Carrie guy! One of the things I love about them is how pretty they are. Chris probably catches me in the kitchen gazing lovingly at them before I eat them ;).

    So, I’m just a little bit vegan. I don’t eat meat, but the vegan thing started when I realized I couldn’t eat dairy at all anymore. But I don’t stick to it 100% of the time.

    I wonder if those recipes are up on Oprah’s website? I’d love to try some! (This is officially the longest comment ever.)

  6. February 28, 2010 7:34 pm

    I think she actually has a new book out about all her vegan food, so you might be able to find it online or at the library! I really like meat, but I’m trying to cut a lot of meat/gluten/carby stuff out of my diet b/c I think my body will start responding better…I think I will be suprised at how different I’ll feel. Right now I just constantly annoyed at my lack of energy and stomachy issues!!! I am inspired by your healthiness, lol.

Leave a Reply

