Skip to content

My Return

February 26, 2010

So, this should probably be a little more epic than it is going to be (just a warning). I have to confess, I’m not usually all that into writing. Actually, I kind of hate it. So trying to generate post after post on this blog is challenging. But it is kind of fun, and a nice break from writing nursing school stuff, which is sometimes grueling and downright annoying. Also, I’ve been threatened by my lovely sister

100_0814

to begin blogging regularly again. So here I am. Bear with me if this is not exciting or even interesting sometimes…welcome to my life. 😉

So, I’ve gotten some questions about the green smoothies from the last post. Without further ado, here is the recipe I use. Stay tuned at the end for some variations!

For one smoothie:

  • Two big handfuls baby spinach (it seems like a lot, but will be just right, trust me!)
  • About 1 cup soy milk

Blend these two ingredients together in the blender first until you essentially have green milk. Then add:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 Tbsp PB
  • 1/3 cup yogurt
  • 5-6 ice cubes

Blend again until smooth. Pour in a big glass and enjoy!

For the soy milk I’ve substituted almond milk and I’m assuming dairy milk works as well, although I’ve never used it. If someone does, let me know how it goes! I’ve also substituted almond butter for peanut butter which changes the taste a little bit, but it is still delicious!

I’ve experimented with adding 1/3 cup oats to the mix, which works really well, and increases good things like fiber, protein, and B vitamins. It bulks up the smoothie a little bit too, and I think it holds me over a little longer.

Last but not least, I sometimes add Shaklee protein powder to the mix just to get a little more protein. This might not be a concern if you eat meat regularly, but I eat a very veggie-heavy diet, and am a little concerned about protein intake, so this is an easy way to sneak a little more in.

I’ve enjoyed these smoothies in a glass (that’s how I’m currently drinking them)

100_1265 100_1267  100_1266

But I’ve also put them in bowls and topped with a little granola, then eaten with a spoon—like a chilled soup!

100_0498

Either way they taste awesome, and how can you not be excited about veggies for breakfast?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 3:36 pm

    yay! thank you for posting!! I can’t wait to go to the store and get the stuff for this!!!! I hate mornings because nothing ever sounds tasty and then I get to school and am so hungry I want to throw up!!! do they sell almond milk at krogers? Also, do you use organic peanut butter? I think I would like the consistency of organic better in a smoothie. I’ll let you know how mine turns out!!!!!! you should post more healthy recipes on here if you ever run out of things to talk about;)

  2. christen permalink
    February 26, 2010 7:34 pm

    yeah YOU! i love it. you are the next peas and thank you.

    • jul82 permalink*
      February 26, 2010 7:41 pm

      Haha, that is quite the compliment!! You’ll have to help me think of healthy recipes I can post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

