Skip to content

Summer Recap 2009

August 29, 2009

005_20A

I’ve talked a lot about starting an anecdotal blog about the humor found in the mundane of everyday life.  I think sometimes we get so caught up in our routine of the day-to-day, and we forget to pause and find the extraordinary. This is my [somewhat lame] attempt to do just that.

So, let me start at the beginning. Not the actual beginning, just further back than this summer. I graduated from college in 2005 with a degree in Human Development and Family Sciences. I somehow, through the grace of God, secured a hard-to-get job as a social worker at a local hospital. I love it, especially the interactions with my patients. There were two things I wasn’t totally in love with, however. I felt like I didn’t get to spend an adequate amount of time with my patients. Mostly, I ran frantically around trying to create discharge plans for them, talking on the phone to retirement homes and rehab facilities, charting, etc. Also, I wasn’t exactly in love with my hometown. Which is to say, I wanted to move. Desperately. So, in 2007 my sister and I moved to Durham, NC. 

100_0381

I worked as a leasing agent for a year, realizing all the time that it was a horrible fit for me. So I decided to go back to school to get a Bachelor’s degree in Nursing. It was a big decision, but one that was always in the back of my mind. I took a few prerequisites, applied to UNC- Chapel Hill School of Nursing, a top 5 nursing school that only admits 1/3 of applicants. It sounds so easy written out in a couple sentences. It was actually really stressful, and I was thoroughly convinced I wouldn’t get in. Much to my surprise, in March of 2009 I got an acceptance letter for the BSN program, and began my journey in May ‘09.

Needless to say, it was a summer full of transition, and I don’t do all that well with change. There were tears, yelling, and lots of frustration, but I managed to balance it with laughter at the absurd and comfort found in time with friends.

pics 007 pics 037 pics 113

My family went on an awesome vacation to the beach during my one-month break from school. It was relaxing, fun, and just what I needed before I headed back to school.

100_0460 100_0435

019_6 006_19-2

Another thing that probably kept me somewhat sane was that my youngest sister Bonnie visited a lot this summer. There’s nothing like getting to spend mass quantities of time with your two crazy sisters. It was so refreshing.

100_0450 100_0489 100_5600

Thanks for reading my first post. I hope you’ll continue with me on this journey of finding the extraordinary in the commonplace!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Christen permalink
    August 29, 2009 3:05 pm

    this blog is awesome, awesome, awesome!!! keep it up!! 🙂

  2. August 29, 2009 5:28 pm

    Love it and can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

